Music at Purdue

Sometimes taking only required classes in a semester can get pretty dull and monotonous. That’s why I love being in concert band! I joined the spring semester of my freshman year, and I’ve loved being a part of such a great program. I play flute, and in high school, I never thought I would play after that, since I wasn’t looking into music as a profession or anything. Even without a music major, Purdue has awesome concert band programs, as well as a GREAT marching band program (they opened the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade last year and are going to Ireland for the St. Patrick’s Day Parade next year).

This past weekend the spring concert bands and orchestras had a winter music gala in Long Center in Lafayette. It was three nights of amazing, passionate music. I’m in Concert Band, so I just played with my band on Saturday night, along with two other bands. What I love about the spring concert bands is the guest conductors they bring in to conduct a few of our songs. For this concert, Dr. Ward Miller (director of marching and pep bands at University of South Alabama) conducted two of our songs. It is really helpful and informative to hear another person’s perspective on the pieces we’ve been working on for several weeks. I would recommend joining a band to anyone coming to Purdue. There is an undeniable sense of community within the band program, and it is great to be a part of it.

— Mary Jacobs, Nursing

This entry was posted in Ambassadors. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

