Student Spotlight: Erin Colpitts

Erin Colpitts is our second student spotlight winner for March!  Erin is currently a sophomore majoring in Human Services. Erin is a great example of what our students can achieve in just a short time at Purdue! Erin has co-founded a student organization (Purdue Students for a Better Life) to raise awareness about bullying. Read on to see our interview with Erin!

Name:  Erin Colpitts
Hometown:  Noblesville, IN
Major:  Human Services
Unit:  Human Development and Family Studies
Year:  Sophomore

Student Organizations:  I am the founder and president of Purdue Students for a Better Life

Residence:  Off campus apartment

How did you decide to come to Purdue? I started college at a smaller business school, but I realized that wasn’t for me. I decided I wanted a larger university setting as well as a course of study that the small business school didn’t offer. After touring Purdue and talking to some friends who were students here, I decided I loved the campus and that it was the right school for me.

What has been your favorite class? I’ve really enjoyed all of my major classes so far. I have especially enjoyed CDFS 343 (Assessment and Case Management) because the coursework is interesting and challenging. The information is very relevant to the type of work I would like to do in my career.

How do you want to make an impact while you are at Purdue? Through my student organization (Purdue Students for a Better Life), I would like to raise awareness of the problem of bullying that goes on in schools and to continue to build strong business relationships with schools and their students all around the area. Our mission is to “create strong individuals through expression and empowerment” so I’m really striving hard to continue to carry out that mission and to work toward helping empower youth, creating leaders, and alleviating bullying in schools.

Tell us about some of your recent accomplishments, current research areas, projects, internships:  I have been working hard (with the help of some great members) to get Purdue Students for a Better Life up and running and to get the word out to the community. I have been very fortunate to be able to speak with some well-known organizations that support the goals that my organization is working toward. We will be having our first campus-wide event at the beginning of April to raise awareness of the problem and to get the word out about the organization. The organization has made a lot of progress over the course of this semester, and I’m excited to see it continue to grow!

What is one thing you would want to tell someone who is thinking of coming to Purdue? Purdue is a great university and you’ll get a great education. Just be prepared to work hard!

What is your dream job?  I have a great passion for working with youth. I have been exploring the possibility of working with either the foster care or adoption system. My ultimate dream for the future is to begin my own non-profit organization to help abused and at-risk youth.

What is your favorite Purdue memory (something you’ve done or something that’s happened)? I would have to say that my favorite Purdue memory so far would be the amazing friends I’ve made. We have done some crazy fun things, and I look forward to many more crazy things during the rest of my time here!

Favorite Purdue hangout? The Union – I love to do my homework and people watch there!

Words of advice for current/prospective students:  No goal is too big to achieve if you set your mind to it and stay dedicated! There are so many wonderful resources available to students, and so many people who are willing to work alongside you and help you achieve your goals and dreams. Go to class, study hard, work hard, and continue to dream…and great things will happen!

This entry was posted in Human Development and Family Studies, Student Spotlight Blog, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

