A Second Home

I remember coming to Purdue for the first time as a freshman, and having so many emotions flooding my thoughts. Nervousness, excitement, hesitation, and fear, to name a few. Two years later, as I was preparing to make my way from Ohio back to Purdue, the only emotion I was feeling was excitement.

As I arrived on campus just a few short weeks ago, that excitement only grew. Driving up Chauncey Hill for the first time and seeing it bustling with students walking around with the much-loved “Den Pops,” driving past Memorial Mall where a group of guys were playing Frisbee, even driving by all of the dorms where eager Boiler Gold Rush team leaders were dancing to blaring music as they welcomed the incoming freshmen, there was no doubt in my mind that I was coming home. Yes, as much as my mom hates to think about it, I now call Purdue my second home. There is just something special about this school that I can’t quite put into words. Maybe it’s the characteristic Midwestern friendliness of everyone here; maybe it’s the buzz of Boilermaker spirit that you can almost feel when walking around campus; maybe it’s knowing that my professors genuinely care about my success; maybe it’s the roar of the crowd and the unity of the student section at a home football game… whatever it is, it’s what makes me so excited to come back to Purdue every August, and I can’t wait until the new students get to experience all of these things just like I have.

Walking around campus these past 2 weeks and seeing all of the new freshmen brings back all of the memories from when I was a brand new freshman, before I had realized how much I would come to love this place. (It’s hard to believe that was 2 years ago!) While I know how nerve-wracking the first few weeks of school can be for new students, I would be willing to bet that it won’t be long before they, too, will be calling Purdue home.

— Stephanie Williams, Psychological Sciences

This entry was posted in Ambassadors, Psychological Sciences. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

