Junior Year . . . Already!

My name is Stacy Gudas.  I am a junior studying retail management and agricultural communications.

Before coming to college, people had warned me that it would be the best and fastest four years of my life.  I thought college would be great for sure, but wasn’t sure how fast it would really go.

Last night, when I got a pledge daughter for my sorority, it finally hit me just how fast college really does go.  Standing in Memorial Mall waiting for all of my new sorority sisters to come out and meet us for the first time was a feeling of mixed emotions.  It was super exciting because there were forty new friends I was about to meet.  However, it was somewhat sad and alarming thinking that it had already been two years since I walked out of those same doors with my bid.  I remembered thinking how much older and intimidating my pledge mom was.  Now, that was me!

Maybe college doesn’t go that fast for everyone, but the more involved you are, the more fun you will have!  It is club callout season which means every club is looking for new members to add to their group.  Attending callouts to actually join the club, learn more about it, or just for the free pizza is a great way to make new friends.  In college, you have the opportunity to make friends in the strangest places; the water fountain, the dining court lines, exercising, class or just anywhere!

My advice, don’t let your shyness get in the way.  Get to know as many people as possible.  You can never have too many friends, and it makes walking to class and around campus a lot more fun when you can say, “Hi!” to the friendly faces you know!

— Stacy Gudas, Retail Mangement

This entry was posted in Ambassadors, Consumer Science. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

