Summer Fun at Conner Prairie Summer Day Camp

What did you do with your summer time? Well since I am in college and learning what it’s kind of like to live on my own, I had the privilege of working a job all summer. I went to a summer camp fair session held at Purdue that my advisor let me know about. I learned a lot of information about camps all over, as well as the different types of camps that are available. When it came to making a final decision, I chose to work at Conner Prairie Summer Day Camp. I was hired on as an adventure camp counselor. This job ended up being one of the best jobs I’ve ever had. I got to work with kids all summer, which I thoroughly enjoyed. A normal week at camp for me usually was canoeing, splatball, swimming in a pond, archery, slip-n-slide, cooking over a fire, homemade ice cream, tye-dye, camp songs, and many more games/activities. Basically I played all day with kids ranging from 5-15 and the best part was I got PAID to do it! Every week we were paired up in boy-girl counselor pairs and assigned a group of kids for the week; Farm Friends (5 year-olds), Prairie Pals (6-7 year-olds), Trail Blazers (8-9 year olds), River Runners (10-11 year-olds) and LITS (12-15 year olds, but they had set counselors all summer). As a human service major this was a great experience to secure because I really want to work with kids in my future. The kids were super sweet and I actually had a funny incident with 2 boys my last week of camp, who were trying to convince my co-counselor and me to eat lunch as a group instead of with the rest of the camp , because they enjoyed when we played games with just them. They told me they could write a persuasive essay (granted these were 10-11 year-olds) and they did to try and get our approval (I attached a picture of the essay). It is probably one of the sweetest things ever, as well as other cards and notes I received from different kids and families over the course of the summer! I owe a lot of thanks to Purdue for offering the opportunity for me to learn about the camps and network with them right on campus.

Boiler Up!

–Ronnie Campbell, Human Services

This entry was posted in Ambassadors, Human Development and Family Studies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

