Learning So Much About Communication Disorders

Last week I took my first two exams as an official student in the major of Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences. The first one was for my Introduction to Communication Disorders class taught by Dr. Ertmer. I feel like I have learned so much from the class already! We focused a lot on hearing disorders, which sparked a new interest in audiology for me. Dr. Ertmer used to teach at a school for the deaf and does research on young children with cochlear implantation and how their speech acquisition compares to typical hearing children.  I find his research really interesting and hope to start working in the lab with him soon! My second exam was for my Anatomy and Physiology class that focuses on the systems used in speech, language, and hearing. The first exam was over neurology. I found the brain very interesting to learn about and was surprised about how easily the concepts came for me. I can already tell that it will be one of my favorite classes I have taken thus far at Purdue. Dr. Huber is such a wonderful professor and she really makes sure you understand the concepts see is teaching you. She truly wants everyone to succeed. I can’t wait to get my scores back! Remember to work hard because it will be worth it in the long run!

— Kayla Weber, Speech, Language & Hearing Sciences

This entry was posted in Ambassadors, Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

