Crowned Miss Northwest Territory!

This past Saturday, October 13, I was crowned Miss Northwest Territory! When I am not focusing on school work, I like to spend my time competing in pageants through the Miss America Organization. The pageant Saturday was one of the many local pageants through the organization. Now that I have this title, I will compete at Miss Indiana in June, and the winner of that pageant goes on to compete at Miss America!!! Our current Miss Indiana is actually a Boilermaker! MerrieBeth Cox, Purdue’s Golden Girl, will go to Las Vegas in January to compete for the job of Miss America! I really encourage anyone interested to check out this organization! We also have a Miss Purdue Pageant every February which is another local title that leads to Miss Indiana! Each contestant is judged on a private interview, talent, onstage question, lifestyle and fitness, and evening wear. By getting involved with the Miss America Organization, I have made so many friends and really grown as a person. Although sometimes I feel like it is stressful to balance my school work with so many extracurricular activities, I wouldn’t change it for anything! Before coming to college, everyone always told me “get involved!” And I am going to say the same thing to you! Get involved with something you are passionate about! You won’t regret it!

— Alyssa Slater, Dietetics

This entry was posted in Ambassadors, Nutrition Sciences. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

