Hurricane Sandy

As I was walking to class today I noticed that it was abnormally windy. Purdue is inherently a windy place because we’re smack dab at the end of a 3-state wide stretch of flat land. By the time that wind from Iowa gets here, it’s pretty strong. But it hasn’t been too windy all weekend and all of a sudden it got really windy today. I knew Hurricane Sandy was hitting the Northeast because my sister got her college classes cancelled for two days at George Washington University for the impending weather, and made every effort she could to rub it in my face that I wasn’t off school. When I came home to eat lunch, a roommate showed me a radar map of the United States and to my surprise, I saw that Hurricane Sandy’s western edge was actually getting pretty close to West Lafayette. I couldn’t believe as far inland as we are that even we are getting some of the effects of the Hurricane, as minor as they are. It made me think about how devastating it must be in those Northeastern states like New Jersey and New York. The news can show everyone who isn’t in harm’s way as many pictures as they’d like, but we still don’t understand what those citizens are actually going through. Then I found out that 6 million people are without power. On top of the rain, wind, and snow, the temperature can’t be more than 40 degrees there and the water is probably ice cold, and these people have no electricity, no oven, no microwave, no heat. I just hope that anyone who reads this prays for all the people who are struggling to simply survive in the Northeast right now and that, if you can in any way, donate time or money to a relief effort near you. Especially with the bipartisanship in the upcoming election, it can be easy to turn on fellow Americans based on their political views; however, we are all citizens of a great country and we should do our part to take care of each other in times of need.

— Patrick Davis, Movement & Sport Sciences

This entry was posted in Ambassadors, Health and Kinesiology. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

