Starting the Semester off Strong

As much as we all loved the time off from classes, homework, and exams, we must accept that this semester is now in full swing! What better way to start off a new year and new semester than having rock solid expectations for yourself! Having the new CoRec or “Dova,” as I have heard it been called, is the perfect place to head to burn some stress, steam, and calories! I have been taking full advantage of the enormous new building since it opened! I usually go ever morning right when it opens to get my morning jog in before my classes start. Now that I know my way around a little better, I haven’t gotten lost, but I’m sure if I ventured off it wouldn’t take long until I needed to ask for assistance. The atrium track is my favorite place to set my pace! I don’t ever get bored up there because it looks over so many sections of the building and I see something new every time I go around! There are many many other neat aspects of the Co-Rec as well! The rock climbing wall is one thing I haven’t tried out yet, but am really looking forward to trying it! When I use the machines, I usually switch up where I go since there are so many different levels with many options at each zone! I would also like to try a massage there too. The sauna is the best way to end a work out, in my opinion!

I really wished I had a sauna after I went skiing both on Christmas Break and the more recent three-day weekend. Some of my friends and I traveled up to Michigan for a day of skiing. I had only been once before, so needless to say, I am not the most experienced down the slopes! One of my good friends knew what he was doing and tried to teach me to “carve the slopes.” Up until then, I just wanted to see how fast I could go down without running into anybody! I decided to try to take his advice and see if I could keep up with him. I started to get the hang of things, but became more focused than I should have been. I was paying no attention to how close to the bottom I was. There were people to either side and my brakes were not working fast enough! Thinking fast, I decided to let my feet go out from under me and slide across on my bottom. To my surprise, I slid further than I thought possible. I was headed right for the lower level windows of the lodge and could just see my ski going through them. Luckily I stopped a foot or so before I hit the glass, but all of the spectators in the upper half of the lodge were looking down on me to see if I was alright. A wave of total embarrassment rushed through me, but no broken bones so I was good to go! I took my skis off, gave my fans a thumbs up, and began to walk back towards my friends. To top it all off, I slipped on the ice with my ski boots and found myself on my bottom once again. And yes, the crowd was still watching this “movie-like” scene all take place. At that point, I was ready to call it a quits, but one of my best friends told me to “come on Cal! We only have 15 more minutes left!” So I thought what the heck, I might as well! After that, we found some bravery and decided to tackle a Black Diamond. Those are the hardest slopes at the place we were at! And to both of our surprise, we made it down in one piece! A little chilly by the end of the day, but it was a day well spent!

Future advice: stay warm & stay alert!

–Calin Cochran, Sophomore, General Health Sciences

This entry was posted in Ambassadors, Health Sciences Pre-Professional. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

