Senior Sendoff

How did four years fly by so fast? It seems like just yesterday my parents were dropping me off at Owen Hall, wishing me luck as a new Boilermaker. Now graduation is only 32 days away! Every year the Purdue Alumni Association and PASE (Purdue Alumni Student Experience) put together a senior sendoff, senior sendoffwhere graduating seniors have the opportunity to learn about alumni opportunities, receive gifts from PASE and from their colleges, and pose for photos with Purdue Pete, The Old Oaken Bucket, The Boilermaker Special and The World’s Largest Drum! Free lunch is also provided. I walk past it every year, but this year I walked through the doors, and was overwhelmed with feelings of pride and joy. So many of my friends were there, as well as many alumni who are as passionate about Purdue as I am. I am so fortunate to have been so involved as a student at Purdue with Boiler Gold Rush, Purdue Dance Marathon, School of Nursing Student Council, Intramural Sports, and of course an Ambassador for Health and Human Sciences. Purdue and nursing have been everything I hoped for and more! It is bittersweet to be graduating, but I am so lucky to have something that I love so much that it makes it hard to leave. At the sendoff, we were given stickers as we came in so that we could put them on a large map, showing where we will be going next. I will be attending the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor, earning a Master’s in nursing to practice as a Pediatric Nurse Practitioner. This is an incredible opportunity, one I never would have gotten without a Purdue education and Boilermaker spirit. As I continue on in my career and in life, I will always look fondly on my days as an undergrad and my memories at Purdue. I will always remain every grateful ever true! Boiler Up!

— Hillary Perez, Senior, Nursing

This entry was posted in Ambassadors, Nursing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

