Nursing Students Without Borders

It’s crazy to think that in two short weeks I’ll be on my way to my senior year of college! Final exams, projects, and meetings are sure keeping me grounded, though. With clinicals ending at the beginning of April, I’ve had a lot of time to catch up on my other responsibilities and organizations on campus. A few weeks ago, I went with Nursing Students Without Borders to Lafayette to help give cholesterol and blood sugar screenings. The event was at LARA, Lafayette Adult Resource Academy. This center serves as a school for adult education, especially English as a second language. Many other organizations were involved with this health fair, including a group from Purdue’s Pharmacy school who were giving blood pressure screenings. I had never performed cholesterol screenings before, so the process was very interesting to me. It also gave me an opportunity to learn more medical Spanish words. It was a great way to spend an evening, helping others in the community!

— Mary Jacobs, Junior, Nursing

This entry was posted in Ambassadors, Nursing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

