Purdue & Apparel Design & Technology – The Best Decision I’ve Ever Made

As I sit here on my last day of college classes, I think back to all the feelings I had as a senior in high school preparing all the possibilities at Purdue. I could have never anticipated the experiences of these four years or growing to where I am today. I walked into my freshman year intimidated by my chosen major, Apparel Design & Technology. I didn’t know how to sew or draw, never understood how to express my creative thoughts, and did not think it was possible to learn these things within just four years. Today I can confidently tell you, it is possible. Choosing to go to Purdue and major in Apparel Design & Technology were two of the best decisions I’ve ever made. For all the seniors in high school out there, I encourage you to take this risk.

On April 6th, my fellow ADT students and I showcased our works at the Annual Purdue Fashion Show. As a senior, I showed my senior collection composed of nine looks which I have been working all year long to produce. It was a proud day of excitement for the 2013 seniors to share our collections with family, friends, and guests at the show.

— Kelsey Leliaert, Senior, Apparel Design and Technology

A photo taken at Horticulture Park of my senior collection titled "Let’s Adventure, My Friend…"

A photo taken at Horticulture Park of my senior collection titled “Let’s Adventure, My Friend…”

Myself with my models after the show

Myself with my models after the show

My senior exhibit table in the art gallery

My senior exhibit table in the art gallery

My senior exhibit table in the art gallery

My models on the runway in Mackey Arena

This entry was posted in Ambassadors, Consumer Science. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

