Internship at the Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort & Spa

This summer has been pretty crazy thus far.  I have moved down to San Antonio, Texas for an internship at the Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort & Spa.  I work in the Food & Beverage Department at their outside outlets, shadowing managers, and working banquets.  I have had the opportunity to serve at the pool bars and bartend, neither, which I have done before.  The training for the serving was pretty crazy, but I feel it will help me out once I get back to school and try to find a serving job on campus.  Bartending has been the hardest thing to learn though.  The drink menu is pretty extensive and the pace is really fast at the bar, so I am still trying to adjust to that.  The people have been very helpful though so, If I need something, they are there to help me out.  As part of the Hyatt Internship, we have to participate in three meetings throughout the hotel, so I have had the opportunity to go to the manager’s meeting, a banquet menu meeting, and a safety meeting.  These meetings really help learn about other aspects of the facility, and in the end helps us become better associates.  It has been an interesting experience, and I have learned a lot so far and hope to learn a lot more this next month and a half I have left.  To save costs for the living situation, I live with 5 other interns that work there as well.  It has been quite the change to adapt to living with 6 people in one apartment, but we have managed so far.  There are also 6 more interns that live next door to us, so it has been pretty fun getting to meet other students from other colleges throughout the US.  It almost feels like we have known each other for a long time.  I look forward to what the rest of the summer has in store for me especially as we get ready for 4th of July this year.  Happy 4th!

–Michael Nalezny, Senior, Hospitality and Tourism Management

This entry was posted in Ambassadors, Hospitality and Tourism Management. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

