Summer Internship at Cary Home for Children

This summer I have been lucky enough to be working as an intern at the Cary Home for Children, Cary Home 1 which is a wonderful resource here in Lafayette for children and families who are in need of some guidance and professional help in one capacity or another. The Cary Home operates as both a residential and an outpatient treatment center, and offers therapy and classes in areas such as recovering from trauma, managing aggression, and recovering from drug addiction or dependence, as well as specialized individual and family treatment plans. In the short time I have been at the Cary Home, I have been so impressed by how devoted the staff is to the best interests of their youths, and how many positive experiences and achievements result from their hard work and dedication. It is truly a rewarding line of work that I am glad Cary Home 2to be on the path towards!

I have been able to see many of the behind the scenes aspects to therapeutic work, as well as the legal side of working with youths who have dealings with the justice system. I have helped out with some of the treatment classes, and gone on outings with the Day Reporting program at Cary Home, which mainly provides kids with opportunities to fulfill their community service obligations in meaningful ways such as volunteering at retirement homes in the area and helping out the local food bank.

As a student in psychology considering going into clinical psychology or social work, I believe that all of my experiences at the Cary Home are going to be wonderfully beneficial to me as I apply to graduate school and eventually jobs in my field that will undoubtedly share some of the challenging and rewarding aspects that I am being exposed to now. I recommend that anyone interested in getting some hands on work doing an internship in their field talk to their guidance counselors at Purdue, who in my experience are most knowledgeable and resourceful in the matter.

–Erin McConnell, Junior, Psychological Sciences

This entry was posted in Ambassadors, Psychological Sciences. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

