A Great Summer Job in Colorado

Hello All,

I hope you are all getting geared up for the 2013 fall semester at Purdue!  I know I am ready for my last semester to be finished but I’m not quite ready for it to get started.

This summer, I have been living and working in Lake George, Colorado, about an hour west of the ColoradoColorado 1 Springs.  Last summer, I found a position as a nanny at a Tarryall River Ranch through a website called CoolWorks.  Originally, the job search had been for a wrangler position which would mainly work with horses.  As I said, I am a full time nanny for six children:  Wyatt 11, Carson 10, Harlie 9, Paisley 6, Danielle 5, and Levi 8 months. They are the coolest kids I have ever met and have spent their whole lives living on the ranch all year round.  They ride horses, hike, bike ride, and many more outdoor activities constantly; needless to say, they are very active children.

My weekly schedule begins around 6:30 am and ends promptly at 12:30 for lunchtime.  During this time I stay at the house with with kids, home school them, feed them, clean house, and play outsColorado 4ide with them.  Sometimes during the week I am asked to watch the kids extra in the afternoon and I’m normally required to help clean dishes after both lunch and dinner.  In one week I typically work 40 hours, which is perfect.

In my spare time, I have been learning to fly fish this summer.  Another staff member has taken the time to teach me the ins-and-outs of fly-fishing and the lingo that goes with the sport.  I never thought I would say this, but…I LOVE IT.  Every Colorado 3week I find myself hiking to the river just to catch a fish or camping out during the weekend. I have been up to Breckenridge, CO to fish, 11 Mile Canyon, Spinney Canyon, Cheeseman Reservoir, the Dream Stream, and many other popular fishing areas of Colorado.  It is certainly a great way to use my free time!

I would encourage everyone to look for a job that suits their interests.  I began my job hunt with a whole different idea, but I found a job I thought I’d like, I loved it, and now all of these great opportunities have come my way!

Good Luck this coming semester…and follow your dreams!

— Liz Overpeck, Senior, Hospitality and Tourism Management

This entry was posted in Ambassadors, Hospitality and Tourism Management. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

