Physical Therapy Shadowing

With the extra free time being home for the summer brings, I figured that I would fit in some observation hours in a few physical therapy settings. Normally I would have shadowed my own PT, but with my parents moving that wasn’t really a possibility. Thankfully my mom did some digging for me and through a friend at church got me the contact information for the head physical therapist at a large clinic in the Sioux City area. She ended up setting me up with 2 weeks of observation: one in an inpatient setting and one in an outpatient setting. The first week I was in a surgery clinic with a PT who sees every patient in the clinic recovering from an orthopedic surgery (knee/hip/shoulder replacements etc.). On the last day she pulled some strings and got me in the operating room to see a knee replacement…literally one of the coolest things I have ever watched!! The second week was your typical outpatient setting, but it’s always good to see how different PT’s work and how different clinics are run. Overall I had a great experience and got a lot of good information out of the two weeks I was doing it, plus getting experience will only help me decide if PT really is the right career path for me!

Rachel Mentzel, Sophomore, Movement and Sport Sciences

This entry was posted in Ambassadors, Health and Kinesiology. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

