Back at the Due

I can’t even explain how nice it feels to be back at Purdue! Don’t get me wrong, I love being at home with my family but I love how independent I am at school. I lived in the dorms freshman and sophomore year but I decided to live in an apartment this year with my roommate from last year, KiKi. We have only lived in the apartment for a week, but we’re already getting lazy about cooking. It’s funny how much I complained about dorm food while living in the dorms, but now I am craving it all the time! It was so nice to have food cooked and ready for you. Besides the cooking, I love having my own apartment! It’s nice to finally have a place of my own. I can’t wait to decorate and make it feel just like my home in South Bend. The only downside of my apartment is that I live at the bottom of a HUGE hill. I used to run cross-country in high school, but I think I have completely lost all of my athletic ability. By the time I’m at the top of the hill, I am sweating and panting like crazy! I think this is just a sign that I need to be hitting the gym more. ; )

Back to school

As far as classes, I think this semester will be an interesting semester. I’m taking SLHS 304: Anatomy and Physiology of the Speech and Hearing Mechanism. It’s only been the first week and we have already gone through so much information! I can’t complain though because the professor is really good and makes the class interesting so I think I may just end up liking it! I’m also doing research this semester with Dr. Seidl through SLHS 345: Research Methods of Infancy and Childhood.  I’ve gone through training but I actually start working tomorrow.  I will be starting to search for potential research candidates and seeing if they are interested in having their children participate in the lab. I’m nervous but excited at the same time. Even though it will be hard to get into the cycle of being in school again, I am so grateful to be back. I hope this year is just as great as my past two years at here!

— Serina Thottichira, Junior, Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences

This entry was posted in Ambassadors, Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

