Study Abroad: Living in the Land Down Under

australiaAussie accents, wild kangaroos, pristine beaches, and seemingly endless sunny skies filled were a special part of last semester for me, along with so much more. As I reflect on my semester abroad, I am ever grateful for this opportunity that I had through the Purdue study abroad program and my major.

Taking classes at Curtin University in Perth, Australia challenged me to adapt to different learning styles and experience what it’s like to be a student in another country. australia 2I was able to take core classes in my major that transferred back to Purdue and will keep me on track to still graduate in 4 years! It was interesting to be able to compare the nutrition and health practices and programs in Australia to that here in the United States. Not only did I learn a lot academically through classes and labs, but I also gained so much insight into the culture of Australia through the people I met and the places I visited. Whether a day trip for a swim in the Indian Ocean, a volunteer trip to the outback, or a week long road trip up the coast, Australia has so many outdoor adventures to offer and I fell in love the beautiful nature around me. Highlights of my trip include, australia 3holding a baby kangaroo, abseiling off a cliff, four-wheel driving on the beach, surfing in the ocean, and snorkeling in the Great Barrier Reef.   I called Australia home for the 5 months that I was living there and it will always hold a special place in my heart. Meaningful friendships were made with local Australians and fellow international students and my view of the world was opened and enriched during this time. It all started with an interest within me to go to abroad and turned into the most challenging, yet rewarding experience in my life.

Don’t let fear or uncertainties stand in your way, go explore another country and I promise you won’t ever regret it.

— Bekah Vukovich, Senior, Dietetics/Nutrition, Fitness and Health

This entry was posted in Ambassadors, Nutrition Sciences. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

