Why every SLHS Student should take SLHS 215: Intro to Audiology

SLHS 215: An Introduction to Audiology is not a mandatory class for Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences majors, but I would highly recommend it!! I took SLHS 215 the second semester of my freshman year and I had a wonderful experience with the course. When I came to Purdue, I knew very little about audiology and never really considered it as a career choice. I had my head set on becoming a speech language pathologist, as I think majority of SLHS majors do. In SLHS 115: Intro to Communication Disorders, the first speech class that students in the major will take, there are some guest speakers who lecture about audiology, but still, I didn’t think I would be interested in the hearing aspect of our field. I decided to take SLHS 215 because I wanted to get more experience with classes in our field, and, to my surprise, it ended up  being my favorite class that semester! The course not only explains the scope of practice of an audiologist and introduces students to the anatomy and physiology of the auditory process, but it also provided tons of hands on experience and there were a lot of really interesting guest speakers (including clinicians, researchers, and even a parent of a child with hearing loss). That class opened my eyes to the field of audiology, and now I know that is the direction I want to go with my career! SLHS 215 not only enlightened me and excited me about audiology, but also was extremely beneficial in preparing me for upper level SLHS classes like anatomy, acoustics, and especially SLHS 460: Intro to Clinical Audiology. I am currently taking SLHS 460, the clinical audiology class, and I feel like I have an advantage over students who didn’t take 215 because the material is already familiar to me! So, my recommendation to incoming students or even current SLHS students? Take SLHS 215!! Even if you find that audiology isn’t the career path for you, it is great preparation for other classes in our field and the opportunities the class provides will open your eyes to other aspects of how communication disorders and hearing impairment can really affect someone’s life!

— Mallory Rotondo, Senior, Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences

This entry was posted in Ambassadors, Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

