Capstone

Senior year seems to already be flying by! I can’t believe it’s almost October! As a nursing student, my schedule is almost set in stone every semester. I have a little leeway with elective classes, but all my nursing classes are assigned for a specific semester. This semester’s nursing classes include leadership, research, ethics, and capstone. Luckily, that gives me enough wiggle room to add wine appreciation and a psychology class (for my minor).

Capstone is a unique, internship-like experience for nursing students. For 100 hours during the semester, I am assigned to “shadow” a veteran nurse to be my preceptor. I was lucky enough to be placed in the ER! I’m gaining valuable skills that I couldn’t gain from normal clinical experiences, since I am part of the whole shift and get to do almost anything under the instruction of my preceptor. My career goal is to go into pediatrics, but in the ER, I’m getting to see 2 month olds to 90 year olds, sinus infections to cardiac arrests. I wouldn’t trade this experience for anything.

— Mary Jacobs, Senior, Nursing

This entry was posted in Ambassadors, Nursing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

