Graduate School

I can’t believe it is already the end of September. I have already completed my first round of exams, but I still feel there is so much more I need to do! I am knee deep in the process of applying to graduate school and consistently have something on my to-do list. It is hard staying organized with all the transcripts I have to send and personal statements I have to write, but I am managing. I want to give a few helpful tips for those undergraduates wanting to apply to graduate school in the future.

  • The first one is to become friends with your professors. Most graduate schools require letters of recommendation from professors that you have a close relationship with. You want your professors to be able to write more about you than just what grade you received in the class and if you are “nice” or not. Take the time to visit your professor’s office hours and get to know them. Ask them about research experiences or volunteer opportunities, anything that will help them to get to know you better.
  • Next, think long and hard about what you have done in college and what you have learned. This is extremely important for writing your personal statement. They want to know what experiences you have had in college and how it will be applied to your future career. Also, make sure to be yourself! Don’t try to be someone you aren’t. You want to make sure your application shows the best characteristics you possess, but if you find yourself stretching the truth or making things up that you think the school would want to hear, it probably isn’t the right school for you anyway.
  • Lastly, enjoy your college experience as much as you can. Don’t get me wrong, school always needs to be your top priority, but take some time for yourself and enjoy every minute you get with your friends because one day far too soon it will end.

No matter where life leads me, I will be forever be a Boilermaker in my heart!

— Kayla Weber, Senior, Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences

This entry was posted in Ambassadors, Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

