Loving The New Challenges!

We’re in the full swing of another semester here at Purdue and there’s no slowing down at this point! It looks like we’ve all survived the first round of exams and thank goodness for that! My junior year of Nursing is presenting a very wide variety of new challenges but I love that I am becoming more and more prepared to take on my future career as a nurse with each passing day. It isn’t easy, but I know it will all be worth it someday…or at least that is what I have to keep telling myself! This semester I have the fortune to be located at the VA hospital in Indianapolis for my Med-surg clinical experience and River Bend Hospital for my Psychiatric clinical experience. Not-so-fortunately, I have to wake up at 6 a.m. every Wednesday and 4:30 a.m. every Friday. BUT! I am learning and experiencing much more than ever before in the realm of nursing and continually have the opportunity to make a difference in patients lives, which makes it all worth it. Last Friday, I was able to have a special clinical experience in the ICU and was able to take care of a patient under very heavy sedation. The nurse I worked with was incredible! He used so much background knowledge based upon anatomy and physiology to make clinical decisions, which reaffirmed the importance of all the studying I have to do while still in school. It’s days like this that make my proud to call myself a Purdue University nursing student.

On top of nursing school, I am also balancing life as a Resident Assistant. This role in itself presents a whole new set of obstacles and challenges, but similar to nursing school, it can be very rewarding. This job amounts to much more than decorating bulletin boards and putting on floor programs. This job has allowed me to become a member of an amazing staff, create a community among strangers, and be a resource for girls who are searching for more.  I’ve only had this role for a little over a month, but I am so excited to see where it will go.

That’s all for now!

Until Next Time,

— Caitlyn Lowry, Senior, Nursing

This entry was posted in Ambassadors, Nursing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

