Half Way Point Of The Semester

This month has been flying by as we’ve reached the half way point in the semester.  Nursing school is definitely giving me a run for my money right now.  I am pushing myself to sanity’s edge, which is ironic since one of my clinical experiences this semester is psych.  It’s times like this in my academic endeavor at Purdue that I am so thankful for course instructors who truly care about my academic success. I have been able to meet with my lecture professors and academic advisor for individual attention and advise.  It’s helped me so much this past week! It also helps to keep my end goal in site. I don’t simply want to be a nurse I want to be a great nurse, which is why I am so grateful that I am in a nursing program that pushes me to learn so much, regardless of the the stress that inevitably comes along with it.

On a happier note, the RA life is going wonderfully.  Being a Resident Assistant has equipped me with more life skills than I ever thought possible, not to mention that my girls are awesome (shout out the the NE2 Boxfans!).  I came into this year fearful that I wouldn’t be able to fulfill such a demanding role. I was afraid I wouldn’t be able to build a community among strangers.  I was doubtful that I would be able to make a difference.  It’s incredible to be able to look over these past two months and see how nearly all of my fears proved to be futile.  It’s been a rewarding experience so far and I’ve already decided that it’s the right place for me next year as well.

Hope things have been going well on your end as well!

Until next time,

— Caitlyn Lowry, Senior, Nursing

This entry was posted in Ambassadors, Nursing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

