The Most Wonderful Time of the Year

Study GroupSometimes I try to tell myself that midterm week is the most wonderful time of the year. Okay, no, not at all, I would never say that.  But one of the biggest truths about college is that doing well on exams is important. Senior year has complicated this truth because my life in college has never been as busy as it is right now (beginning my own research, working two jobs and applying to graduate school all at the same time).

One of the best ways I have found to combat the busyness of college and not to be too terribly overwhelmed (although a small dose of that is definitely motivating!) is to study with friends.laptops

This doesn’t necessarily have to mean studying with friends who have the same major or exams as you but being in an environment of others who are also suffering (I mean, studying!) as they can help motivate you to study harder and longer than what you may have done if you were studying on your own.

In related news: putting the effort in to doing well on exams and expanding yourself outside of academics pays off as Virginia Tech is paying to fly me down to Virginia to meet them next week before I finalize my application for their PhD graduate program.  And I know without a doubt I would not be getting this experience if not for the opportunities that I’ve been presented at Purdue.

Alicia Kerr, Senior, Psychological Sciences

This entry was posted in Ambassadors, Psychological Sciences. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

