Working at the Rec: A Home Away from Home… well apartment :)

Purdue_Rec_CenterMy first and only job since I began attending Purdue in the Fall of 2011 has been with the Division of Recreational Sports. For those of you who do not know, we just opened our new recreational facility in the Fall semester of 2012. And if I might add, it is a BEAUTY! I remember my first time going to work out at the France A. Cordova Recreational Facility, or the CoRec as we like to call it. I was amazed as I had the opportunity to watch such an amazing facility being built from beginning to end. Boasting an incredible amount of features, the CoRec contains 16 Racquetball/Squash courts, 10 Basketball courts, a recreational swimming pool, a multitude of multipurpose rooms, an indoor floor hockey facility, and much, much more. Any sport you can think of, we probably have it. If we don’t, we can probably get it. Personal trainers? Check. Massage therapy? Got that too. Just need a place to study? There’s at least a half dozen study areas. Have a smoothie while you are doing all that studying from from the small convenience store, Fuel. You probably can tell I love the new facility! Whether it’s to relieve stress, to get in a good workout, or just to work, I spend the majority of my time at the CoRec and I wouldn’t have it any other way. So if ever given the opportunity, I suggest you check it out too!

— Caitlynn Anderson, Junior, Family and Consumer Science Education

This entry was posted in Ambassadors, Human Development and Family Studies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

