A Busy Bee

pattern makingIt has been a very busy month, but I am amazed at how much I have been learning over this past semester.  In my pattern making class we have just finished learning how to make our own patterns from scratch, transferring the pattern pieces onto muslin and fitting it on the model forms.  Our next assignment is to create a sheath dress, which is just a fitted dress with sleeves and a zipper.  We must then fit the dress on to a live model.  I’m pretty excited to get started and still trying to find just the right fabric I want to use to make the dress.

I am also pretty excited about the field trip that I am attending with my college later next month.  We are going to the Chicago Fashion Group International Career Day on November 10.  We will be able to learn more about the fashion industry and network with people who are in the field, like designer Wes Gordon!  I have started preparing for the trip by updating my resume, but now need to focus on what’s really important-what I am going to wear!?

— Sierra Powell, Sophomore, Apparel Design and Technology

This entry was posted in Ambassadors, Consumer Science. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

