The Chicago Fashion Group International Career Day

Interview 1This month I had the opportunity to go to the Chicago Fashion Group International Career Day with girls from the Retail Management major and Apparel Design major.  It was a great experience for us.  We left campus extremely early, at 7:45, and made it to the Chicago Cultural Center at 9:00.  The building was absolutely stunning, and I heard it was the first time that this Fashion Career Day was held at this building.  After signing in, we waited for the other universities to arrive and then went straight into the main room to hear the amazing upcoming designer Wes Gordon speak.  He was so charming and funny.  We even had the privilege of seeing his next collection for 2014, where he had three beautiful runway models display them to us.  After that, we broke up into smaller groups and got to learn about different aspects of the apparel industry.  I decided to learn about the creative industries in the fashion world, such as being a stylist, blogger or visual merchandiser.  I was able to hear from people who were in these careers and successful at it.  We were able to ask questions at the end and even network with them.  I also went to a session on how to get a job in this industry.  It was very helpful.  I learned things from how to dress for an interview, particularly relating to fashion, and how to set up my resume, and what not to say during the interview process.  My favorite part of the trip, however, was lunch!  I had a Cosi vegetarian sandwich, veggies, and an Izzy and was able to meet some girls from other universities.  After lunch I was able to give my resume to companies such as Nordstrom, Macy’s, Von Maur, and Ulta.  I talked with a representative from each about their internship opportunities and I am still in contact with a few of them now. At the end of the event, we all gathered in the common room and watched a video about the trends for 2014 which gave me some inspiration for a garment I’m designing now with leather.  It was a very long day, we didn’t make it back to West Lafayette until 7:00 p.m., where we were greeted with snow.  All in all, I had an incredible time and was so happy that I was able to attend –  all thanks to Purdue.

— Sierra Powell, Sophomore, Apparel Design and Technology

This entry was posted in Ambassadors, Consumer Science and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

