Crazy Month of November!

November has been a really crazy month for me!

The first weekend this month, I ran my first 15k (9.3) miles.  This was a big accomplishment for me because of all the health complications that I had the previous two months.  It really proved that you can do something if you put your mind to it.

The next weekend, I traveled to New York for the International, Hotel, Motel, and Restaurant Show.  This is my third year attending this event, and every year it seems to amaze me.  I had the opportunity to network with some of the top industry executives as well as other students from other universities.  The last morning of the event, I attended a scholarship breakfast and was honored for a scholarship that I received from the association called the, Arthur J Packard Scholarship.

The weekend before Thanksgiving break, I had the final round of interviews for a management position with Hilton Hotels Worldwide in Virginia.  The final round was a 3-day event that involved interview, networking receptions, and assessment.  It was by far the most difficult round of interviews that I have done.  There were 70 students from multiple universities that made it to the event, and they told us the first day that only 35 would be receiving offers for positions.  Fortunately enough, I was extended an offer for a position in Chicago.  It was really exciting because it was my first official offer for a full time position after graduation.  I am currently in the process of evaluating the offer and seeing if it is a right fit for me.  As the rest of this semester ends, I am focusing on making sure that I make the right decision when it comes to a job and making sure that I end off the semester on the right foot.  Hopefully next time you hear from me, I will have a job all lined up.

Michael Nalezny, Senior, Hospitality and Tourism Management

This entry was posted in Ambassadors, Hospitality and Tourism Management. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

