Things To Keep In Mind If You Are Chill Challenged

It is a little late, but I did want to talk about how beautiful the campus was this fall. It still is, just a few more leaves have fallen off :). Any who … I love this time of the season. I thrive in the cold. But not to worry! For those who are chill challenged, I have some things for you to keep in mind.

  1. Because Purdue campus is so close and there are “secret” tunnels, it is by all means possible to get from one building to another all the way across campus without spending a significant time in the cold.
  2. Layer up buddy! Even though it may be cold outside, many of the buildings are nice and toasty.
  3. A warm coat is better than a cute coat (fellas!) What I mean is although you may want to look fashionable, actually have a coat or sweater or some piece of clothing that you can stay warm in.
  4. Drink hot cider with a little cinnamon and nutmeg. It’s not really a way to keep warm all day, but you won’t regret it!
  5. OK so I lied, this turning into stuff I love around campus.
  6. Ride the Boilermaker Special! It may be cold, but don’t let the opportunity escape you.
  7. Use the trees and buildings to your advantage! Use them as wind breakers. Also, invest in a wind breaker, if anything, when it does rain, you will be very happy!
  8. Don’t open your umbrella under the wind tunnel. You will see what I mean.
  9. I honestly don’t have much more, I just want to make it to 10.
  10. I made it! My last bit here is that you should have some shoes that are not cloth (mesh, felt, you name it) so that you have something that will actually stay dry and warm. Lets face it, when cold weather hits, your piggies may be in a beautiful home, but they are going to be doing much more than going wee wee wee all the way home!

I love fall/winter on campus. It is absolutely beautiful and there is no better place to spend it. Remember to take the time to soak it in and enjoy it. It can be easy to let it all go past you without seeing that it is actually beautiful. Relax, get some delicious tea/coffee/cider from local places (my favorite is Greyhouse) and enjoy your surroundings!

— John Oswalt, Senior, Dietetics/Nutrition, Fitness, and Health

This entry was posted in Ambassadors, Nutrition Sciences. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

