Once in a Lifetime . . . .

I can’t believe it is almost the end of February already. These first 6 weeks have flown by. The start of a new semester brings a lot of emotions – happiness, stress, excitement – a little bitequador 4 of everything, really.

Even though we’re already into this semester, I would still like to reflect on of the best experiences I have had while attending Purdue. During winter break, I had the amazing opportunity to partEquador Trip 1icipate in a Medical Missions Trip to Otavalo, Ecuador with members of the Purdue Caduceus (Pre-Med) Club.

There was a group of 14 of us all hoping to go into a career in the medical field from physician’s assistants to physical therapists to pharmacists and even physicians that went on the trip. We ate some amazing food. The South American natives fed us so much! The mountain villagers were so appreciative, they cooked us a huEquador Trip 2ge meal and we could hardly finish all of it. We went to a waterfall. We shopped at the largest Indian market in South America. We experienced the Ecuadorian night life. We even had a chance to see some amazing volcanoes after we ended up in El Salvador after a flight delay and missed our connecting flight. I can even now say I’ve been to the Equator.

I had the opportunity to shadow doctors in a local area Equador Trip 3hospital, visit orphanages and provide donations as well as do some wonderful sightseeing. I was even able to surprisingly utilize my knowledge of the French language with a French volunteer at one of the orphanages we visited.

This trip taught me so much about not only myself and further confirming for me what my calling is and where my passions lie, but it taught me about appreciation, other cultures, and just simply being grateful for what I have. This was such an awesome experience that I will remember for a lifetime. I will never forget the wonderful children and people I met in Quito and Otavalo, Ecuador.

— Lacy Watts, Junior, Health Sciences – PreProfessional

This entry was posted in Ambassadors, Health Sciences Pre-Professional. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

