The Last Stretch

Hi Everyone! I can’t believe I am in the last stretch of my junior year! It’s crazy to think I’ll be graduating in just ONE semester. I still feel like a fifteen year old so it’s weird to think of myself in the the REAL world. Ahh! Let me fill you in on this semester. I expected my schedule to be really intense and busy because I was taking seventeen credit hours but to my relief, it has actually been one of my most relaxing semesters thus far! I’ve been working at the Miller Laboratory School, right across from Earhart Hall, for about a year now but my schedule has been so busy that I haven’t been able to do many hours. Since my schedule is really relaxed this semester, I decided to take on a few more shifts at work to make a few extra bucks. I’ve always loved working with kids so I absolutely love my job. I get paid to run around and play with kids all day. How much better could it get? : ) I work so often that the kids finally know my name! I know it’s really not that big of deal but it makes me so happy! The extra money has been really nice too, although, I think 90% of it has gone towards Chipotle and Red Mango. (I should probably start saving up sometime soon…) I would definitely recommend students having a job. I’ve found that the busier that I am, the better I do in school. I know that sounds bizarre, but the more free time I have, the more I procrastinate. When I’m busy, I’m so much more productive with my time and actually get work DONE. Also, having a job you actually enjoy makes it so much easier to want to work. I always count on going to work as my escape from the stress of school. Sometimes I get so tied up with classes and exams that it’s nice to just let loose and play duck duck goose with kids.

As far as summer plans, I’m not 100 percent certain what I’m doing. I have my apartment for the rest of the summer so I may stay at Purdue and work at the daycare or go home and find a job there. All I know is that I definitely want to travel! One of my really good friends is from Puerto Rico so I’m really hoping I can visit her sometime this summer. My plan is to save up enough money in the beginning of the summer so I can visit sometime in August! Other than my traveling plans, I will be studying for the GRE, shadowing a speech pathologist and of course, spending time with my family.

BOILER UP!

— Serina Thottichira, Junior, Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences

This entry was posted in Ambassadors, Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

