Summer Study Abroad – en Espana!

This time next week I will be in Madrid, Spain starting my 7 week study abroad program! I will be living with a host family to get the full experience of the Spanish culture and will be taking two classes to help me finish up my Spanish minor. They are classes that transfer back to Purdue even though I will be taking them at la Universidad de Nebrija with other Spanish students. I will be taking Culture & Civilization as well as El Prado Art. I am most excited for the art class because it means that I get to go to the museum, El Prado, every week and see paintings by Velázquez, Goya, and other famous artists.

Classes are only Monday to Thursday, which leaves our Fridays for excursions. We’ll be traveling to Toledo, Salamanca, Segovia, and Granada. We also have two free weekends, which means I can travel to wherever else I want like Barcelona or Valencia. Our program ends after our trip to Granada, but a few friends and I are staying a few extra days to stay for the Running of the Bulls festival in Pamplona!

In just 5 days I will be headed to Madrid and I am so excited and lucky to be able to spend my summer abroad! One of my favorite quotes is “The world is a book, and those who don’t travel only read one page” by St. Augustine, so I would definitely encourage all of you to study abroad! With the scholarships that Purdue has to offer, it is definitely something manageable, all you have to do is find a place to go!

— Priscilla Gaona, Senior, Movement & Sports Sciences

This entry was posted in Ambassadors, Health and Kinesiology. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

