A Lot Of New Experiences This Summer!

Hello!! What a busy summer it has been! Between trips, work, and trying to keep the floor of my room visible, I feel like summer has just flown by. I have had a lot of new experiences this summer. In June, I went to Washington D.C. with my family. July consisted of a week long trip to northern Michigan with a friend. And my entire summer has been consumed with medical billing for a therapy company.

Capitol

My siblings and I in front of the Capitol.

In D.C., we did a lot of the touristy stuff. Tour of the Capitol, the monuments, Georgetown Cupcakes (which are, by the way, the best cupcakes I’ve ever had). But we also went to The Newseum – yep, a museum all about the news. As a former journalist student (in high school), the journalism nerd in me totally geeked out. One of the best exhibits is the gallery of Pulitzer Prize winning photographs. While some are incredibly difficult to look at, the art is incredible. We also visited my cousin, his wife, and their new baby. Which, I mean, come on, who doesn’t love snuggling with a little baby every now and again? Overall, D.C. is just an awesome place. The vibe is so professional – everyone knows what they’re doing and where they’re going. I definitely want to live there one day.

Sleeping Bear Dune

Sleeping Bear Dune

Cray Fish

Holding a cray fish!

The other trip I took was much closer to home. I traveled to Northport, Michigan, and stayed in a small cabin with eight to ten other people. I went with my friend and their family. I have to admit that I was a little nervous to go at first. Anyone who knows me knows that I am not a big nature girl. But it turned out to be one of the best experiences ever. I saw so many new things. One of the coolest places we went was called Sleeping Bear Dune; it’s a sand dune that is so steep it’s almost perpendicular to the shore. I wasn’t quite brave enough to make the climb, but the view was reward enough. Another cool experience was getting to hold a cray fish. It’s like a little lobster. It was actually really cute, but very pinch-y. And of course, I repped Purdue the entire way!

— Ally Ylo, Sophomore, Financial Counseling and Planning

This entry was posted in Ambassadors, Consumer Science, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

