Summer Fun!

After a whirlwind sophomore year I was extremely fortunate to spend my summer relaxing at home with friends and family! I got to explore my hometown of Pittsburgh, PA and take in the culture my beautiful city has to offer with various shows, baseball games, and city outlooks! Additionally, this summer I got to nanny 3 amazing boys and spend my summer days playing soccer, doing science experiments, looking for bugs (my boys would definitely love the Purdue bug bowl in April, they love to learn new things!) However my favorite part of the summer was definitely getting to perform in the Indianapolis 500 Parade and festival in May.

I am a meMarchingmber of the Purdue Golduster Dance Team and we perform year-round with the Purdue All-American Marching Band, or the AAMB as we are affectionately known! The AAMB has been performing at the Indy 500 since 1919 and it is a tradition very near and dear to our hearts. This year was my first year performing as well as experiencing an Indy 500 race and I have to say it was an amazing experience!! Not only was it incredibly cool to march on the track and perform by the winner’s circle, but it was also amazing to see aMotor Speedway 2nd interact with all of the Purdue alumni Motor Speedwayin the area. There is no better feeling than marching through downtown Indianapolis and hearing “Boiler Up!” from every direction! The tradition and school pride of Purdue is definitely one of my favorite parts of being a boilermaker.

Although I’m sad to see the summer end, words cannot describe how excited I am to start my junior year! I can’t wait to start classes and of course can’t wait to cheer on our Boilers every Saturday this fall!

Hail Purdue!

— Rachel Baur, Junior, Human Services

This entry was posted in Ambassadors, Human Development and Family Studies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

