Work & Play

I can’t believe the summer is coming to an end. Usually at the end of each summer, I look back and regret that I didn’t do more with my summer. With that in mind, I forced myself to stay busy this summer and it was so much fun! Since I had my apartment, I decided to stay at Purdue for the first half of the summer and work at the local daycare. Since I worked 40 hours a week, I was able to really connect with the children and teachers. During the school year, I worked as much as my schedule allowed but it wasn’t always consistent. Being there all summer allowed me to really know each of the kids personally. It was so fun to see the kids grow in just two months and witness their “firsts” like learning how to ride a bike or count to 100 and even become potty trained (which is actually pretty darn exciting!). They are at the age where they are so curious and excited to learn new things. I typically work with the 2-4 year old kids and they are at the stage where they want an explanation for EVVegas 1ERYTHING! I can’t even count the number of “why” questions I got asked. 🙂  I’m always surprised by how smart they are. I was working with a group of four year olds and I wrote the letter “d” on a piece of paper and asked what words started with the letter “d.” They began saying typical words like “dog” and “dad” and then they started coming up with words like “dehydrated” and “deconstruction.” I mean I don’t know about you, but I barely even knew my letters at age four! Maybe I am just having a proud “mom” moment. ; ) I’m sad to not be with my little kiddos anymore but it makes me so excited to go back in the fall and continue working.

Around mid-July I came back home to South Bend to celebrate mine and my mom’s birthday. Our birthdays are only three days apart so we usually celebrate our birthdays together which is always so much fun. For my birthday this year, my sister and I decided to make a trip to Vegas with a couple close friends. I’ve always seen Vegas in movies but I didn’t really know what to expect. Surprisingly, it is just as pretty in person than in the movies! We stayed at the Bellagio so we had an amazing view Vegan 2of the fountain show. I tried testing my luck with gambling but after losing 20 dollars, I got too scared and stopped. Even though gambling didn’t work out, the food there was AMAZING. Growing up, I was obsessed with the Food Network Channel (weird obsession, I know). A lot of the chefs have their own restaurants on the strip so I HAD to try them out. I went to Gordon Ramsey’s restaurant and had one of the best burgers I have ever had in my life. We also went to Guy Fierri’s restaurant and his food fits his personality–so much FLAVOR! I definitely burned a hole in my wallet from all the food, but it was so worth it. All in all, it was such a fun trip and I’m so grateful to have such an amazing sister to plan something like this for me.

I’m really happy with how this summer worked out. With my last two weeks, I am planning on shadowing the same speech pathologist I shadowed last summer and continue studying for the GRE. Even though this summer has been really fun, I am so excited to be back at Purdue and enjoying my LAST semester of college!

BOILER UP!!

— Serina Thottichira, Senior, Speech, Language and Hearing Science

This entry was posted in Ambassadors, Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

