5 Reasons Every Boilermaker Should Study Abroad

So, I’ve been back in the USA for about a month now and I’ve had quite a bit of time to reflect on my experience in New Zealand and how it’s shaped me as an individual. It has been a weird adjustment coming back to my “old” way of life—no more random weekend excursions, ocean views, or kiwi slang around me. Even though I’ve left New Zealand (although I plan to visit again someday!), there are so many things that I will carry with me forever because I chose to make that journey. I cannot express enough how amazing my experience was… so I’ve come up with 5 reasons why every Boilermaker should study study abroadabroad:

  1. Challenging your comfort zone makes you stronger.

While I was in New Zealand, I no longer even possessed a “comfort zone”. Every day I was meeting new people, thrown into unique situations, and constantly learning new things about the New Zealand culture and society. I hiked mountains I didn’t think I was capable of hiking, I BUNJY JUMPED, I lived in a van for 7 days while traveling, and I tried eating crocodile and kangaroo… Literally, no comfort zone existed. But, in doing all of those things, I learned so much about myself and truly realized what I am capable of accomplishing. Things I thought I would never enjoy turned out to be some of my favorite memories, and made me way more open-minded to new experiences in the long run.

  1. You will make friends from all over the globe.

In New Zealand, I lived with 5 other students (from all over the globe!) My flatmates (or roommates as we say here in the U.S.) were from Germany, New Zealand, China, and Scotland! While I was exposed to New Zealand culture, I also got to learn about their cultures, hear their stories, and better understand their experiences, too! Since I’ve been back home, I have already met up with 3 American friends whom I met abroad (from Michigan, Florida, and Indiana). My friend group has expanded in size (and in diversity!) I know if I ever visit Europe, I will have friends to visit AND a place to stay. Pretty cool, aye?

  1. Learn about the world… and YOURSELF

When I hopped on the plane to travel down under, I had no idea what to expect. I knew I would be learning in my classes, from new friends, but interestingly enough, I learned the most about myself. Studying abroad is a very personal journey and a pretty intense experience. At Purdue, I have such a close knit group of friends whom I have met through my major, campus organizations, etc. Yet, abroad, I knew nobody! In the process of basically ‘starting over’ (meeting new people, living in a new place, navigating a new campus), I learned more about my strengths and weaknesses as both a student and individual. Taking myself out of my familiar surroundings allowed me to really understand myself and grow throughout my semester abroad. Since studying abroad, I feel way more confident, have a fresh outlook on meeting new people, and have a much greater appreciation for cultural differences and diversity!

  1. The opportunity to evaluate how you live from a new perspective.

Studying abroad is a challenging experience. You are immersed in a completely and totally new life! Yet, living abroad allowed me to think more deeply about how I live my life back home. What do I do in my free time? How do I nurture my relationships? America is such a fast passed society. At Purdue, my life is a constant “GO GO GO”! Next class, next assignment, next meeting. In New Zealand, the pace of life is much slower and more relaxed. I took breaks between classes; I took time out of my day to visit with friends and build relationships; I TOOK NAPS! I realized how much time I devote at Purdue to studying and other commitments. While being involved and working hard towards my degree will always be a top priority in my life, I hope that I can bring back a more relaxed attitude and slower pace this semester. Time to breathe and build relationships with friends is so very important.

  1. The world is a beautiful place!

I traveled to New Zealand—one of the most beautiful countries on this planet! The scenery I saw, the mountains I climbed, the beaches I swam in…..were all absolutely breathtaking places. No matter where you go, you will find a refreshing and exotic beauty in our world! I thought that studying abroad would satisfy my hunger to see the world…but if anything, it only made me hungrier. I want to see more! There is so much beauty and wonder out there, and I want to explore it and learn from it!

In short, I would say without a doubt that studying abroad has been the best experience of my journey as a Boilermaker. I am fortunate to go to a University that provides such incredible support and programs to make studying abroad possible…and easy! DO IT! It will change your life!

Mallory Rotondo, Senior, Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences

This entry was posted in Ambassadors, Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

