Excited To Be Back at Purdue

As this summer draws to an end, I can’t help but look back at how awesome these past few months have truly been! I spent the majority of my summer working at a local retail store in my hometown (Valparaiso, Indiana). When I wasn’t at work, I spent time with my family and friends from home. A few friends and I bought a Country Mega ticket, so basically we were able to attend every country concert at the Tinley Park concert venue near Chicago! There are a total of six concerts, and we have already attended five of them. They have all been a total blast! Music and attending concerts are a huge part of my life that I absolutely love!

In mid-July I took a little road trip up to the suburbs of Detroit, Michigan, to visit one of my best friends I met during my freshman year at Purdue! We visited the Detroit Zoo one day, and spent the other couple days exploring her hometown. It is so much fun being able to visit friends I have made from my time at Purdue. It gives me an opportunity to travel to new places (which I love doing) and seeing where my friends grew up.

I finished my last day at my summer job on the last day of July. During the first week of August, I flew out to Arkansas to visit my aunt. I had never been to Arkansas before that, so it was a lot of fun! I got to spend time with both my aunt and cousins who I haven’t seen in quite a few years. It’s always nice to spend time with family! After a few days in Arkansas, my aunt and I decided to take a spontaneous road trip down to Destin, Florida! We spent three days relaxing on the beach, which was unbelievably fun and beautiful.

After spending a few days in paradise, I had to fly back to Indiana. 😦 But thankfully, I get to move back down to Purdue next week!! I am so excited to get back to West Lafayette and reunite with my friends! This has been such a great summer, but I am ready to take on my junior year at Purdue. I know it will be a great year, just like my last two years have been! Boiler UP!

Alyssa Gilmore, Junior, Nursing

This entry was posted in Ambassadors, Nursing, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

