Family, Friends, & Science

My summer breaknephew involved family, friends, and some work. I kicked off summer by welcoming into the world my new baby cousin/ god son, Alex Jamir Rogers. On June 11th at 00:20 hours I held my cousin’s hand as she delivered her 5lbs 7.4 ounces 18 inches baby boy into this world. Being able to support her and witness the birth of Alex was such an amazing experience.

The rest of summer was filled withsummer 1 more family and friends adventures. These adventures included music concerts, many birthday celebrations, baby christenings, and spontaneous road trips. Also, it would not be a summer break unless my best friend, brother, and I didn’t visit Six Flags Great America. Despite my fear of heights, I love the thrill of roller coasters!

summer 2During July, I interned with a program known as Chicago Area Health and Medical Career Program (CAHMCP) —through the Illinois Institute of Technology. I was a teacher advisor for the Young Scientist Program. YSP allows 7th-10th graders to keep their minds actively engaged during the summer. My group of kiddossummer 3 learned about Ecology by lecture, team building activities, field trips, and science experiments. By the end of the program, the kiddos were able to present science projects about the different components of Ecology. Such a great program!

As this summer comes to an end, I am preparing family and friends for my departure. As well as preparing myself for my return to Purdue. See you all soon my fellow boilermaker family!

-Shanera Wilson, Junior, Public Health with a concentration in Behavioral Social Science

This entry was posted in Ambassadors, Health and Kinesiology. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

