Scavenger Hunt Day as a Summer Camp Counselor

summer 1After an eventful freshman year at Purdue University, I was very excited for a relaxing summer at home with my family. This was going to be my fourth summer as a camp counselor at a local day camp. The job entitles me to take care of ten children for six hours a day, five days a week, for two months. It was very rewarding experience spending my summer with the wonderful children in my group.summer 2

One of my favorite memories at camp was Scavenger Hunt day. Throughout the day, the children and I went on multiple hunts looking for sticks and pinecones. The children’s favorite scavenger hunt was a picture scavenger hunt. There was a long list of tasks that we needed to take pictures of the group doing the specific task. The tasks were weird and crazy; and that is what the children loved most about it. We all neesummer 3ded to take a picture on the same slide and climbing up something difficult. There was even a picture all hiding behind the same tree. The day was fun and exhausting. A camp counselor knows that they did a good job if all the campers fall asleep on the bus ride home.

I am very pleased with my decision on staying home for the summer. Working with children is a passion of mine and I am glad my major allows me to work with children as well as people of all ages. As sad as I was to leave home, I am so excited to start my sophomore year back at Purdue University.

– Sara Loerch, Sophomore, Speech, Language, Hearing Sciences

This entry was posted in Ambassadors, and Hearing Sciences, Language, Speech. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

