Summer Internship at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa

One of my favorite aspects of the hospitality industry is that there is a world full of opportunities awaiting me not only in school, but, arguably more important, after graduation. This summer, I was able to take hold of such an opportunity through an internship at the Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa in Tucson, AZ in Food and Beverage.   I interviewed for the position at the spring Career Fair in February, and in my interview, the Starwood representative asked me where I would like to be placed and in what department I would like to work. I requested that I be placed near my hometown, Phoenix, AZ, and that I work in Food and Beverage. A couple of weeks after my interview I received a phone call saying that I received a position at the La Paloma and would start at the beginning of June!

Paloma ResortNaturally, I was nervous as I awaited the beginning of the internship. What would my coworkers be like? What if I got lost driving to the property? Would there be any other interns there? Fortunately, I had nothing to fear. The staff at the La Paloma was all very friendly and eager to meet me, and my coworkers were patient with me as I asked them dozens of questions each day. My boss was very accommodating in that he gave me multiple opportunities to learn and experience as much as I could. For example, I would occasionally manage the restaurant on my own or represent Food and Beverage at associate meetings.

I worked at the property for 10 weeks, and I learned at least one new thing ever day. Each day in the hospitality industry is different, and learning how to address each situation helped me grow as a manager. I am definitely looking forward to a career in this exciting industry!

— Lindy Schubring, Sophomore, Hospitality and Tourism Management

This entry was posted in Ambassadors, Hospitality and Tourism Management. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

