Update on September Clinicals

Clinicals 1I promised you all an update on clinicals in my September blog and I can’t believe another month has gone by! It’s been an exciting month of practicing old skills, honing current skills and learning new ones. In sophomore clinicals we learned about IVs, catheters and wound care, but rather than learning these skills on patients we learned them on mannequins. This year I have gotten to provide all of this care to my patients. It was definitely nerve-wracking doing these procedures for the first time on my patients but like all things the anxiety decreased after the first time. My instructor was very helpful, giving me both constructive and positive feedback after each skill. The main change I’ve noticed in myself this month is confidence. I have grown more confident in approaching new procedures, interacting with patients and planning my time in clinicals. Last year I was so nervous about clinical days I would wake up almost every hour the night before clinicals. I don’t worry as much now. I can sleep through most of the night, walk into the hospital each Wednesday excited and confidently plan and coordinate my patient’s care. Not everything goes perfectly but there’s a mutual understanding that we’re all learning and the staff, patients and instructors have been very understanding.

On a different note, it’s gotten so much colder these past couple weeks I’ve started to wear my lab coat to clinicals, as you can see in this picture. At 6:30 in the morning it sure is FREEZING!

— Laura Mangan, Junior, Nursing

This entry was posted in Ambassadors, Nursing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

