Fall into a Season of Celebration

FallThe halfway point in the semester is a busy time of year for everyone. I have had my fair share of midterms, quizzes, reports, and group projects, and I know many students are in the same boat! Sometimes I think that it is easy to get caught up in the business of school and forget to take time to celebrate and enjoy life for what it is.

However, the good news is that fall is here! I cannot get over how beautiful the leaves are, how delicious each glass of apple cider is, and what it feels like to be cold again. I am from Arizona, so my perception of fall is very different than what it is “actually” like. The temperature this time of year in Arizona is still around 90 degrees and the trees don’t change color (or if they do, it’s usually not until November). Some days I needed to bake some pumpkin bread or force myself to wear a sweater just to convince myself that it was actually fall! Experiencing fall in Indiana has been such a pleasure, and I have been able to take full advantage of the season by going to a corn maze, drinking fresh apple cider, and carving a pumpkin that I picked from the patch myself.

One of my favorite fall memories has been going to an apple orchard for the first time. I went to the orchard with a group of fellow honors students to collect apples to donate to Food Finders and use in the dining courts.  I enjoyed picking the apples with my classmates, and it felt even better knowing that we were serving the community. The owners of the orchard were kind enough to let us take some home, and they were delicious!

Fall in Indiana is much different than what I experience at home, and this has made me really appreciate the unique beauty of the season. Even though this point of the semester is very busy, I think it is important that we all take time and celebrate the little things in life, and what better way to do that than with fresh apples and a piece of pumpkin pie?

— Lindy Schubring, Sophomore, Hospitality and Tourism Management

This entry was posted in Ambassadors, Hospitality and Tourism Management. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

