Cross Off Another Item On My List

I love how beautiful campus looks in the fall.

I love how beautiful campus looks in the fall.

Hi everyone! I was looking through my calendar earlier and realized that I am already in my ninth week of classes. Each semester I am shocked with how quickly the semester goes. So far, my semester has been going really well. Because it is my last semester, I was able to add really fun electives, like Modern Dance, to my schedule. Even though I am absolutely terrible in class and make a complete fool of myself, it has been so much fun to take a class that is so different from my typical lecture classes. Because the class is so small, I’ve made some awesome friends which makes the class even more enjoyable! Along with Modern Dance, I am also taking SLHS 430: Speech Language Disorders in a Health Care Setting. Before taking this class, I was really set on working with Pediatrics; however this class has interested me in working with an older population. I’ve shadowed in hospitals before so it’s been really interesting to learn about the different disorders and communication difficulties I’ve seen while shadowing.

PB BurgerIn my previous posts, I have mentioned of the list I have compiled of all things I wanted to do before I graduate. I can officially cross another item off the checklist: eating a peanut butter burger from Triple X. If you have never heard of the peanut butter burger, you probably think that sounds incredibly nasty but it is quite possibly the best burger I’ve ever had in my life. It was even featured on the Food Network’s Diners, Drive Inns and Dives! I would have never thought a beef patty smothered with peanut butter would taste so delicious, but somehow the combination works so well. My best friend from back home came to visit me so I knew it would be the perfect place to take her! Both of us absolutely loved it. I definitely recommend everyone trying it before they graduate!

I am at my half-way point of the semester and I’m hoping to cross more items off my list. Next up: Fountain Run! I’ll make sure to post pictures 🙂

BOILER UP!

— Serina Thottichira, Senior, Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences

This entry was posted in Ambassadors, and Hearing Sciences, Language, Speech. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

