Purdue is the Stepping Stone to Your Future

So if you readers did not already know, I am a nursing student at Purdue. I would have to say that one of my favorite things about nursing is all the hand-on learning experience we get. One reason our nursing program at Purdue is so awesome is because students get to start their clinical experiences sophomore year. This year as a junior, clinical experiences become prominent since we have them twice a week, which includes a trip to Indianapolis once a week. Although waking up at 4:30 in the morning every Wednesday to get to the hospital by 7 AM may not be the most appealing thought, I promise it isn’t as bad as it sounds! Early mornings have definitely helped me get on a better sleep schedule, I get a taste of what the working life feels like, and there’s no better way to bond with my fellow nursing students than a two hour car ride once a week. Clinical definitely evokes a large range of emotions, everything from anxiety to aggravation to appreciation. It’s also very satisfying to learn about a disorder or medication in class and then be able to apply the knowledge when I’m working with patients another day that week. It’s nice to be able to get a taste of what my career will consist of after I graduate, and even better to know that I love what I am doing. Whether your major provides the opportunities for you to get experience in your classes or you get the experience from work or internships, I think it is important to get some type of experience that relates to a possible future profession. Even if it ends up being an experience that you don’t want to continue in the future, being able to rule something out is just as important as finding a good fit. As always, what’s most important is that YOU are enjoying whatever it is you’re learning about and the work you’re doing because Purdue is just the stepping stone to your professional future.

— Smaro Spandonidis, Senior, Nursing

This entry was posted in Ambassadors, Nursing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

