Creepy Classics at Purdue University

One of my fondest memories of when I was young was dressing up for Halloween. This year I was able to do two things I love. On October 26th, Purdue Universities Wind Ensemble played a “Creepy Classics” concert for the children in the community. The entire Haloweenensemble, including our director, dressed up for the occasion. It was a very different environment than our usual formal attire.

The concert went well playing different pieces that the children enjoyed. The favorite song for most of the children was when we played a medley from the Disney movie “Frozen.” It was hard to concentrate on my music when the children were belting out “Let it Go” at the top of their lungs.

The concert also included a costume parade. As the band played, the children lined up to go across the stage and show off their costumes. In a word, it was… Adorable. It is so fun to see the creativity of the costumes that I would have never have thought of when I was younger.

Overall, playing in this concert was a great way to spread some Halloween spirit as well as also encourage the children to try playing instruments when they get older. I love being a part of Purdue Bands and Orchestras and I am so happy that I had the opportunity to play in this concert.

— Sarah Loerch, Sophomore, Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences

This entry was posted in Ambassadors, and Hearing Sciences, Language, Speech. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

