Experiencing and Discovering New Things

So I’m a senior in college this year, and I’m STILL trying to figure out how to manage my time well. There are a lot of other responsibilities I have besides school, but sometimes I get so stressed with my workload from class that it’s the only thing I worry about and dedicate my time to. I’ve realized that I tend to let school take control of my life and I forget that there are other things I can do that I find enjoyable and are relaxing. This semester especially I have wanted to try to pick up new hobbies just so I can start to experience some new things and discover new things I enjoy. I have rented an apartment/town-house for the past 3 years, and one of the responsibilities that comes along with that is cooking for myself. When I came to Purdue I had no idea how to cook. Obviously I didn’t need to pick up that skill freshman year because I just ate food from the dining hall. The past two years I would make myself very simple meals (my specialty being a box of pasta with Prego pasta sauce). I always felt like I was too busy to cook and just wanted to make simple meals! Well this past semester I had the desire to attempt at cooking, and so far I have been successful! I have not made anything too complicated, but I have definitely spiced up my meals a bit. I also try to make meals that will last throughout the whole week, so I can cook dinner on Sunday and then just refrigerate the leftovers to eat throughout the week. I’ve learned that I have a lot of fun cooking, and I get to eat everything too, which is the best reward! It’s pretty satisfying to be able to challenge myself and have a successful outcome. While I am no pro by any means, I now know cooking is nothing to be intimidated by! So whether it’s cooking or something else that’s really unfamiliar to you that you want to try, just go for it. It’s awesome to pick up a hobby that is something you enjoy (not related to school) that still benefits you in a different way. I will definitely keep you posted as I advance in my new cooking journey. I am going to post some links below for recipes that I have tried out so far!

Stuffed shells: http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/spinach-and-ricotta-stuffed-shells

Vegetable lasagna: http://www.bhg.com/recipe/pasta/vegetable-lasagna/

Pulled pork: http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/slow-cooker-pulled-pork-1

Pumpkin bars: http://www.tasteofhome.com/recipes/pumpkin-bars

— Smaro Spandonidis, Senior, Nursing

This entry was posted in Ambassadors, Nursing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

