Hospitality and Tourism Management as a Senior

As my senior year is coming to an end, my course load is beginning to feel as if it never will! However, throughout this semester, I have already gained amazing experience from my Hospitality and Tourism Management (HTM) courses. As an HTM student you are required to take HTM 492. This is a 7-hour lab spent cooking in the back-of-the-house, or serving in the front-of-the-house. In addition to cooking and serving, you will be a manager for one or two nights during the semester. This means that you will work with 9 other managers from different days and create a menu themed around a certain country. Once your menu is complete, you then complete a costing sheet as well as a shopping list for the week. By completing my management night already, I feel as if I have gained first hand experience of what a manager of a restaurant goes through on a regular basis. It was also a lot of fun to bring my friends and family in for the meal that I helped create!

— Katelyn Shebel, Senior, Hospitality and Tourism Management

This entry was posted in Ambassadors, Hospitality and Tourism Management. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

