College Mentors for Kids

My second semester of sophomore year has gotten off to an exciting start! This semester I was finally able to participate in the organization College Mentors for Kids. I am paired up with a young girl in second grade. I meet with her every Monday for several hours and we do different educational activities together. For our first activity, we made ice cream and did an activity to get to know each other with all of the other mentors and their little buddies. This organization works to help give at-risk children the opportunity to have another positive role model in their life. My job as a mentor is to encourage my little buddy to work hard in school and to help them build a better life. I share my own experiences and encourage my little buddy to have an open mind and give back to the community. Purdue University has the largest College Mentors for Kids chapter, and I am so excited to finally have the opportunity to participate and help my little buddy reach her full potential.

— Elissa Borgia, Sophomore, Nursing

This entry was posted in Nursing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

