Fun Events on Campus!

It’s been a crazy start to the semester! On top of keeping up with all of my classes, so many things are going on around campus! This month, I’ve been to two concerts, Mackey arena at 12:30 am, and apparently, a winter wonderland!

One of the best parts about going to a big university is that big name performers come here – including Brad Paisley! Now, I am not a big country fan, but a friend asked if I would go with her, so I figured I would give it a shot. And I am so glad I did! Paisley was great and so entertaining – I’ve officially been converted into a country fan!

Someone asked me to swing dance, and of course, I had to accept! It was so fun!

Someone asked me to swing dance, and of course, I had to accept! It was so fun!

On top of the great groups that come here, Purdue Music Organizations houses some wonderful on campus groups. My boyfriend is a trumpet player in the American Music Repertory Ensemble, one of the top jazz bands on campus, and I was able to attend one of the concerts – and it was held at the Black and Gold gym in the Co Rec! The band played in the corner of the gym, and the rest of the space was used for swing dancing! It was such a different concert atmosphere and so much fun!

Of course, you can’t talk about the spring semester without mentioning Purdue Men’s Basketball! The biggest game of the year? PURDUE VS. IU! And the Boilermakers won – both times! After they won

Whose house? OUR HOUSE! Boiler Up!

Whose house? OUR HOUSE! Boiler Up!

against IU, at IU, I had the opportunity to greet the team as the came back from the game. Down side, I had to sacrifice a small amount of sleep to do this, but it was totally worth it! At 12:00 at night, I bundled up and walked all the way to Mackey Arena in sub-zero temperatures with my friends to cheer on the team! It was so much fun!

 I mean, it’s hard to hate snow when it’s this pretty!

I mean, it’s hard to hate snow when it’s this pretty!

In the meantime, I’m trying to stay warm, keep up with accounting, and trying to enjoy the snow we’re getting. Even though it means spring isn’t as close as I want, it’s still quite a beautiful sight!

— Ally Ylo, Sophomore, Financial Counseling and Planning

This entry was posted in Ambassadors, Consumer Science. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

