Back to School – In Denial

And with that, summer ends and school begins.

And can someone please tell me how I’m a junior? When did that happen? Sometimes I feel like I just got done with BGR. But here we are, junior year.

My schedule is filled with business classes. Legal business, selling and sales, risk management, statistics, and estate planning. The first few days of class are always kind of a hassle… New teachers, new classrooms, trying to find people you know in class, getting books and notes figured out. It’s all a little overwhelming. But I’m looking forward to getting into the swing of things.

My teachers are all great. One of the great things about the Consumer, Science and Retailing lecturers are that they are also professionals in the field that they are teaching. For example, my estate planning lecturer is also a practicing attorney who helps families, well, estate plan, every day! It’s so refreshing to have a real-world point of view about my classes versus justFarmer's Market Flowers a textbook point of view.

One of my favorite things about returning to campus is the Farmer’s Market! Every Thursday from April to October, local farmers and vendors come to Memorial Mall and sell fresh produce, flowers, and fresh pastries. I got the prettiest bouquet of flowers this past week. Unfortunately, I had to pull a total college move… Since I don’t have a vase handy in my apartment, I used a reusable Starbucks cup I had around. Hey, gotta do what you gotta do!

Unfinished P

The bouquet I got at the Farmer’s Market! It was so pretty and made me so excited for fall. Look at those colors!

To celebrate the end of the first week, my boyfriend, an ME here at Purdue, and I got some coffee in the Union and walked around campus on Friday night. We just had to stop and take a picture in front of the Unfinished P sculpture on campus.]

Hope you’re all having a wonderful week!

— Ally Ylo, Senior, Financial Counseling and Planning

This entry was posted in Consumer Science and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

